Slayer #1: Money

Why did she start with  THAT?! Yes, I know. I put the worst first for a reason — I wanted to go ahead and get it out of the way! Whether you are a homeschool mom or not, this is a problem, but I am going to be directing this series at the homeschool mom specifically.

Outside of homeschool registration with an umbrella school or using an online program, you can homeschool for free or close to it!

This is one of the first reasons I get for why people are hesitant to homeschool –the cost. I chock this up to not knowing what’s out there for you! May I ask how much research you have done? I ask because there are free and low cost options out there for you and, if by chance there isn’t, put your thinking cap on and create  your own.

You know your children better than anyone and understand how they learn best. Let your fingers do some walking and see what is out there. There are hundreds of Facebook groups out there full of people blazing the same trail that you are and can make some recommendations, but know that there are differing opinions, so keep your goals in mind.

Use the resources that are around you! When was the last time you visited the library? Your local librarian can be of a lot of help in your journey. If you don’t have a library card, get one! There is great value in teaching from real books! That reminds me of the time I read the book “One Foot, Two Feet” to my daughters. That book covered counting from 1 to 10, grammar, and plurals. Math and Language Arts were done for the day! They practiced writing the words, counting, and finding plurals of common words. This is one reason why I hold very tightly to books that offer such possible solutions. Does that mean it’s time to look through the bookshelf? Yes…yes, it does.

Dollar stores are your friend as well. I know I LOVE the teacher aisle in the dollar store and have found some awesome stuff, while only spending $20 for three kids!

Attraction memberships are my next tip. What? I thought you were talking about NOT spending money! I’m trying to, but I can’t let this one go and I’ll tell you why. A fellow homeschooling mama bought memberships to every attraction and museum she could where we live. She used our local zoo as her science for the year. How? They studied an animal a week! They made a list of all of the animals in the zoo, noted times for keeper chats (where the kids could ask the animal caretakers questions and hear a presentation on that particular animal), and made a schedule that ensured that they were able to study as many animals as possible. Since we’re allowed to bring food into the zoo, they made lunch for themselves. They also got their exercise in because of all of the walking that was required — they were not allowed to ride the zoo tram at ALL! They took pictures, made notes using what they read at each exhibit, etc. PLUS, they were able to do this while traveling because they got free or discounted admission to zoos all over the country! It’s the same way with museums. Depending on the type of exhibits, you can pretty much study anything! Look at their websites for teacher’s guides and activity packets as well.

Lastly, never forget that life itself is the best teacher! There are lessons in anything and everything! Studying measurement? Get in the kitchen and cook something or build something outside. Want to start teaching home economics? It starts AT HOME. Looking for a creative way to teach spelling, walk or drive around and look for errors in signs. Teach history by visiting historical landmarks around your city.

You can do it, but it’s going to take work! And, if you need help, please reach out! That’s why I am here…

Slayer #2 is coming on Wednesday!

Leave a comment